Forest County

Nora Matuszewski

200 E Madison Street Crandon WI 54520


Election administration, county record management, marriage licenses, cutting permits, county dog licensing and licensing reporting, County Board agenda and minutes, apportionments of county tax for municipalities, annual county directory, notary service, and general information for the public.  I also serve as the County Administrative Coordinator working with the Personnel Committee and other county departments.  I deal with county policies, procedures, employee benefits.

Courthouse is closed on: New Year’s Day, Good Friday afternoon, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.  If the holiday falls on a Saturday, the courthouse is closed on Friday.  If the holiday falls on a Sunday, the courthouse is closed on Monday.

County Information

You will not find a traffic light or a parking meter, but you will find warm and friendly people and a beautiful setting to make your time here memorable. Forest County was created from portions of Langlade and Oconto Counties by an Act of the Legislature in 1885. The county was given the name Forest because of the dense forest which covered the county when it was created. Forest County has an abundance of lakes totaling 21,882 acres. Its network of waterways is unique and consists of 850 miles of fabulous trout streams. There are 824 named lakes in Forest County where pan fish, smallmouth bass, largemouth bass, walleye, northern pike, and muskies are common. Forest County has the third highest part of our state. Sugar Bush Hill, just off State Highway 32 and US Highway 8 between Laona and Crandon, has an elevation of 1,939 feet above sea level. Opportunities for recreation abound here, with acres of Nicolet National Forest land waiting to be explored, beautiful lakes, rivers and streams for all types of water sports and unique spots for dining and socializing with friends. Whatever your plans, Forest County is waiting to do what we can to help you enjoy your time.

County Population: 9304

Cities: 1

Towns: 14