Buffalo County

Roxann M. Halverson

407 S 2nd St P.O. Box 58 Alma WI 54610


General Office Duties: Election Administration, WisVote election services for 20 municipalities, Marriage License, County Board Secretary, DNR License Sales, Website Maintenance, Dog License, Kennel Licenses, and Cutting Notices.

County Information

Buffalo County is located within the unglaciated, Driftless Area of Western Wisconsin.  Pepin and Eau Claire Counties form the northern border of the county, while Trempealeau County forms the eastern border.  Three rivers also border the county; the Chippewa on the west, the Mississipi on the southwest and the Trempealeau on the lower eastern border.  All of Buffalo County drains into the Mississippi River. Boating, hiking and camping are the major tourist attractions for Buffalo County.

County Population: 13707

Cities: 4

Towns: 17

Villages: 2