Ashland County

Heather W. Schutte

201 W Main Street Room 202 Ashland WI 54806


General Office Duties: Election administration, maintain voter registration for 16 municipalities, financial reporting, payroll, marriage license, DNR license, vehicle registration (limited), notary service, sale of plat books, records County Board proceedings, maintains adopted ordinances and resolutions, prepares Board and Committee agendas, maintains dog license records, apportionments of County tax for municipalities, publish official annual directory.

Closed: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving, Day After Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve Day.

County Information

Located in Northern Wisconsin, Ashland County is located on Chequamegon Bay of Lake Superior.  We offer a variety of recreational activities – snowmobiling, ATV/UTVing, fishing, hunting, XC skiing, hiking and more.  Ashland County has 64 lakes which cover 11,000 acres of land. These lakes are known form many species of fish, including the famous muskellunge.  There are 65 spring-fed trout streams which total over 300 miles.  The Apostle Islands, which are part of the county, are famous for their scenic attractions, where boating and deep sea fishing is the best. Mellen is the home of Copper Falls State Park.  Each year people visit here for picnics, hiking, and camping on 1,200 acres.  Clam Lake, Glidden, and Butternut, with the famous waters of the East and West Chippewa and Flambeau flowages, offers some of the finest fishing in Northern Wisconsin.  A county with 177,732 acres of National Forest where big game hunters go and snowmobiling and skiing are popular.  The home of the Great Divide, where the waters flow North to the historic shores of Lake Superior, the largest fresh water body in the world, and to the South to join the waters of the Mississippi. See the Bad River Indian Reservation where the Kakagon Sloughs include thousands of acres of wilderness and fishing.

County Population: 16157

Cities: 2

Towns: 13

Villages: 1